Rich the Kid’s “The World is Yours” album lies — It’s not yours, it’s his


(Jonathan Kermah / Amherst Wire)

Jack Hamm, Writer

Rich the Kid’s first album “The World is Yours” is finally out following many lauded mixtapes and features like “Trap Talk” and “Rich Forever 2.” The “MONEY WAY!” movement is in full effect on “The World is Yours,” as Rich piles hits on hits with an eclectic, multi-generational ensemble of features.

In the NBA, star first-year players hit a “rookie wall” around the middle of the season. They aren’t adjusted to the intensity or length of an 82-game season, and they slow to a grind around January. The same can be said for “rookie” albums in rap. While talented rappers show promise, they sometimes lose quality and focus. This is what sticks out about “The World is Yours” — the first track, “The World is Yours,” is as fantastically listenable as the last song, “Dead Friends,” is 43 minutes later.

We knew we were in for something special last September with Rich’s release of “New Freezer,” which featured rap royalty, Kendrick Lamar. The playful melody and sharp snare gave way to an instant classic, and Rich stayed within himself stylistically.

He didn’t change his persona to fit or compliment Lamar’s brilliance, and that collaborative success says a lot about Rich’s brand. While Kendrick played in and out of sing-song vocal variations like a tiger plays with a beef brisket, Rich sticks to his oozing, candy-painted, ice-coated lyrics aided by his Migo-esque spastic ad-libs.

Rich has what can’t be taught: a distinctive, personalized voice that is recognizable instantly. Think about it the way we instantaneously know Takeoff from Quavo in the Migos. That’s what Rich has. In fact, if the Migos needed one octave higher than Quavo, they should look no further than Rich the Kid.

“Plug Walk,” released February, features the alien that broke the internet, Lil Mayo. The “Plug Walk” music video, a “Breaking Bad” parody, will be up for a VMA later this year if the academy has any sense. Lil Mayo plays the “plug” role like a natural which is excruciatingly funny considering he’s an extraterrestrial movie prop making waves on the scene.

These two pop-culture dominating singles paved the way for the rest of the album on which Rich loses no momentum. He shows a little more versatility pairing with singers like Khalid on “Too Gone” and Chris Brown on “Drippin,” the former of the two being especially potent. “Too Gone” encapsulates “The World is Yours” as Rich expresses late night, intoxicated love off of gold bottles he can now afford. The world is at Rich’s disposal, and all 14 tracks dare you to think otherwise.

Another standout, “Early Morning Trappin,” features a fellow rising star Trippie Redd with a slightly darker tone from the rest of the album. The crowded production by T Minus combines driving marimbas with hectic tambourine shakes and hollow, muffled horns for a delicious beat that everyone and their grandma can dance to.

“End of Discussion” includes classic Lil Wayne wordplay, “I got the enemy rushin’, get it the enemy Russian? F*** it, end of discussion” and Rick Ross’ deep base injection on “Made It” put two more hits on the board for Rich.

But is it Rich’s brilliance or his features that make this album so listenable? Though the latter could be argued, it’s Rich’s complementary yet unique style that draws so many to his studios. He’s solid. He’s not just another feature anymore. Think of Rich the Kid at this point as a networking link. His lyrical ability and strong brand are worthwhile by themselves, but he seems naturally geared toward the pack mentality of collaboration, and that’s not a bad thing.

Verdict: 9/10

Rich’s smooth transition from mixtape madness to debut album dominance proves his validity among the stars. His “Miami Vice” suited album cover couldn’t pair better with his natural ambition, strong personality and networking prowess as he continues the “Money Way.” Sure you can argue his content is limited to bougee women and bursting bank vaults, but I can’t think of someone else who could tell me their watch is diamond-littered in as many creative ways as Rich. Rich’s assertion that “money way, b**** that’s the only way” rings true on “The World is Yours.”

Notable Tracks:

  1. “New Freezer”
  2. “Plug Walk”
  3. “Too Gone”
  4. “Early Morning Trappin”
  5. “End of Discussion”
  6. “Made It”
  7. “Dead Friends”

Email Jack at [email protected] or follow him on Twitter @96Jackhamm. 

Facebook Comments